Test Driven DesignTM

Machines that sell

You sell slush machines to convenience stores in Ontario highlighting the high profits retailers can make with such units. You want to sell the machines in Quebec with the same argument.

Is it a good idea?

Serve Canada distributes slush and soft ice-cream equipment to restaurants, ice-cream parlours and retailers. The company did well in Ontario, emphasizing the monthly profits that a merchant could make with the equipment, but they were having problems to sell them in Quebec.

After a first meeting with the president of Serve Canada, we had more questions than answers. We didn’t understand why, in view of the resounding success in the sales of slush by a large convenience store chain, other retailers were not interested in following in their steps.

What David and Goliath did

David and Goliath promptly conceived a brochure with a catchy slogan, with an unusual format and colourful and clever design, in order to test it among the target public.

What the Test Driven DesignTM allowed us to understand

The tests revealed that retailers were not taking the offer seriously due to its message. They were being told how much profit they could make with the machines while they considered themselves to be the only ones who could evaluate such fact.

The results

We just modified the text and mentioned the daily operation costs of each machine and immediately sold 75 slush machines!

Test Driven DesignMD

Des machines qui vendent bien

Vous vendez des machines à slush aux dépanneurs ontariens en insistant sur les profits qu’ils peuvent réaliser avec de telles unités. Vous voulez vendre vos machines sur le marché québécois avec le même argument.

Est-ce une bonne idée ?

Serve Canada distribue des équipements pour faire de la crème glacée molle et de la slush dans les restaurants, crémeries et magasins de détail. L’entreprise performait en Ontario en mettant de l’avant les profits mensuels que pouvait réaliser un commerçant avec cet équipement, mais elle perçait difficilement au Québec.

Après une première rencontre avec le président de Serve Canada, nous avions davantage d’interrogations que de réponses. Nous ne comprenions pas que, devant le succès retentissant la vente de slush dans une grande chaine de dépanneurs, d’autres commerçants indépendants ne cherchent pas à emboîter le pas.

Ce que David et Goliath a fait

David et Goliath a donc rapidement conçu un dépliant, avec un slogan accrocheur qui sortait de l’ordinaire par son format, son design joyeux et ses couleurs vives, en vue de le tester auprès de notre clientèle cible de détaillants.

Ce que le test driven designMD a permis de comprendre

Les tests ont révélé que l’offre n’était pas prise au sérieux en raison du message véhiculé. Il disait aux dépanneurs combien ils allaient gagner, alors qu’ils estimaient être les seuls à pouvoir le déterminer.

Les résultats

Il a suffi de modifier le texte en mentionnant le coût d’opération quotidien de chaque machine pour que, dès le premier envoi du dépliant, 75 machines à slush soient vendues.