Test Driven DesignTM

Striking strudels

You want to market a new brand of pre-packaged strudels at competitive prices in convenience stores in Quebec. First step: find a name. Your colleagues are all for Divino, a name that they feel inspires a delicious taste.

Do you accept their suggestion?

For 15 years, Casse-Noisette bakery has occupied the shelves of Montreal convenience stores. The company doesn’t have a brand strategy and is looking for a name for their strudels, which they are about to launch.

What David and Goliath did

David and Goliath had to find a name for the strudels and create the packaging. Divino seemed to be the right name to convey the message of the “divine” flavour of the pastries; therefore, several packaging prototypes were created.

What the Test Driven DesignTM allowed us to understand

A first series of tests carried out with two groups of consumers revealed that French speakers liked Divino, associating the name with a good pastry, while English speakers immediately thought of wine.

The results

In view of the results, a collaborator of David and Goliath exclaimed, “C’est du délire!” There you go, what a great idea for a name…

The second test showed Délire pleased all palates, regardless of their language.

Test Driven DesignMD

Des strudels qui tournent au délire

Vous devez commercialiser une nouvelle marque de strudels préemballés vendus à prix compétitif dans les dépanneurs au Québec. Première étape : trouver un nom. Vos collègues penchent tous en faveur de Divino, un nom qui leur inspire un goût exquis.

Acceptez-vous leur suggestion ?

La boulangerie Casse-Noisette occupe plusieurs pieds de tablette chez les dépanneurs montréalais depuis 15 ans. L’entreprise n’a pas de stratégie de marque et est à la recherche d’un nom pour des strudels qu’elle s’apprête à lancer.

Ce que David et Goliath a fait

David et Goliath doit trouver un nom pour ces gâteaux et concevoir leur emballage. Divino semble tout indiqué pour bien souligner le goût divin de ces pâtisseries et différents prototypes d’emballage sont alors élaborés.

Ce que le test driven designMD a permis de comprendre

Une première série de tests effectuée auprès de deux groupes de consommateurs révéla que Divino plait aux francophones, qui l’associent à une très bonne pâtisserie, tandis que les anglophones pensent immédiatement à du vin.

Les résultats

Au vu des résultats, un collaborateur de David et Goliath s’écria : « C’est du délire! » Tiens, tiens, quelle bonne idée pour un nom…

Au second essai, Délire fit l’unanimité des palais dans toutes les langues.